We are two moms connecting moms, communities and companies.

I was recently asked to write a blog post for Type “A” Parent on why bloggers need to be on LinkedIn.  I wanted to share this post with my LinkedMoms community.  I hope you enjoy it…

 

https://dlc1-s.licdn.com/sites/default/files/Logo-59px-TM.png

I have been on LinkedIn since 2009.  I have had a love affair with this particular platform long before many people got their first invite to connect.  I have tried, in vain, for years to preach the gospel of LinkedIn… It has not been easy but with over 225 million users in every country in the world, I know I was right in sticking to this platform.  When I joined, there were 50 million members.  I know that because when I started to do presentations about the virtues of LinkedIn  those were the numbers I quoted.

No so any more, LinkedIn has matured into a professional networking and social media platform that has more than 2 members join every second… yes, every second.

Why do I like LinkedIn?  Because you can see everything about me in one quick snapshot:  my picture, my name, the ‘many’ hats that I wear, my location, my current place of employment and most importantly, my personal URL.  It is my calling card… without having to hand out a business card.  All my contact information and links to my blog etc.  are all right here. In one spot.

LinkedIn_TypeAParent_ProfilePic

I am amazed to this day how many bloggers are not on LinkedIn®. 

“I don’t get it”

“Its just for business people”

“Its not really a social network”

“I’m on there but I’m not sure what to do”

Here is my pitch to all of you blogger to get on LinkedIn® as soon as you can.

  1. It is where professionals are.  Your a professional aren’t you?  By this I mean that not only are professional bloggers to be found on LinkedIn so are those that we want to do business with: PR firms, agencies and BRANDS.  No self respecting brand is not on LinkedIn®.  You can find all those contacts that were eluding you.

    Below I have typed in PR Firm New York. First it will list all my 1st connections then, my second connections.  That means I could find someone that is currently working with a PR firm in my group of ‘business’ friends or colleagues.

    LinkedIn_TypeAParent_PRFirmNYCModified

  2. LinkedIn is a one stop shopping platform for clients.  How so? You can have your website, blog, twitter handle (s), Facebook page, Pinterest and Instagram accounts all listed in one place. 

    “Why wouldn’t they just go to my blog?” Some of the contacts that you find on LinkedIn may ONLY BE on LinkedIn.  They may not be on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram.  “Well, I don’t need them then”… Wrong. You need for those that have the power to approve your brand ambassador application, your blogger outreach contribution to review your client list to find you on LinkedIn because it is the professional networking platform.  

  3. The SEO capabilities are astounding.  LinkedIn comes up in the top 3 spots when you Google yourself… Go ahead try it. If you are on LinkedIn®, Google will list your LinkedIn profile at the top of the page.  Why? Because LinkedIn works very hard at providing great SEO for its members.

    LinkedIn_TypeAParent_GoogleName

  4. You can become an expert in your field by sharing great content on LinkedIn.  Maybe it is content from your blog or an article that you share about how bloggers should be compensated or an article about the benefits or working with bloggers.  You can be that voice that people listen to in regards to blogging (or social media or organizing or travel) on this professional network.

    One of the ways that potential clients can see your talents is when people endorse you for the skills that you have listed.  If you are an expert on Blogging, Facebook, Social Networking etc. clients can see how your professional network see you: as an expert in your field.  If you look at my skills and endorsements below, you will see that my strengths are in blogging, speaking and even professional organizing.  Clearly skills, I want to emphasize for those future opps.

    LinkedIn_TypeAParent_Skills

  5. Lastly, you can have recommendations that will make your profile shine!  I have landed more then one speaking engagement because I have sent potential clients to my LinkedIn profile where they can see the recommendations that I have received from verifiable sources (i.e. a LinkedIn Connections).  Why is this important? Because those potential clients (brands & PR firms alike), can see for themselves who you have worked with and what great things they say about your professionalism, integrity, creativity, reliability… you see where I am going with all of this, right?

    LinkedIn_typeAParent_Recommendation

    Recommendations are golden and no there social network has that kind of pull.  It is a waste not to take advantage.

If you are serious about being a professional blogger and want to grow your network, make sure to fill out your profile and ask to connect with your new contacts via LinkedIn.  Any time someone wants to work with you, they’ll have YOUR information close at hand in their LinkedIn Contacts/Network.  They can recall your face by seeing your picture and they can review who you are and what you are good at. 

If you are a blogger, you need to be on  LinkedIn.


LinkedIn is a registered trademark of LinkedIn Corporation.  All photo images have been taken directly from Margarita Ibbott’s LinkedIn profile.

Leave a Reply

